Your tip

Regis & Kelly, Ellen & Dr. Oz Among Big Winners At Daytime Emmys

//regis_and_kelly_ _getty_images_inf

Jun. 20 2011, Published 10:35 a.m. ET

Link to FacebookShare to XShare to FlipboardShare to Email
Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By Adam S. Levy Staff Writer

& Neil Woulfe News Director

In a year that will see daytime staples The Oprah Winfrey Show, All My Children and One Life to Live go dark after decades on the air, change was the underlying theme at the 38th annual Daytime Emmy awards on CBS, broadcast from the Las Vegas Hilton on Sunday night.

But on to the winners: In somewhat of a surprise, Regis Philbin and Kelly Ripa won for Outstanding Talk Show Hosts. This is the second time Philbin, 79, – who’s leaving his show this year - has won for Outstanding Talk Show Host for Live!  (He won in May of 2001, tying with Rosie O’Donnell for her show). Unfortunately, Philbin and Ripa were no-shows at Sunday’s Daytime Emmys; It was Ripa’s first win. (Presenter and frequent Live! fill-in co-host Anderson Cooper accepted on their behalf).

Article continues below advertisement

The team behind The Ellen DeGeneres Show nabbed Outstanding Talk Show/ Entertainment, while Dr. Oz walked away with two big awards -- Outstanding Talk Show Host and Outstanding Talk Show/Informative.

Oz told the AP he doesn't "feel pressure" in inheriting many of the coveted time slots vacated by the outgoing Winfrey.

Read the full list of winners at 38th annual Daytime Emmy Awards

"I feel honored and I feel responsibility to give to the audience what she did so beautifully for 25 years," Oz said. "I think I'll have Oprah on as a guest sooner rather than later."

DeGeneres tweeted she was “so happy and excited watching my staff accept the Emmy for outstanding talk show tonight!”

Meanwhile, on the soap side of daytime, The Bold and the Beautiful was the night’s big winner –taking four awards, most notably for Outstanding Drama Series.

Michael Park of the canceled CBS’ As the World Turns won Best Actor In a Drama, while Laura Wright of ABC's General Hospital won Best Actress.

Kelly Ripa
Article continues below advertisement

In the Best Supporting Actor category, Jonathan Jackson of General Hospital picked up a trophy, while Heather Tom of The Bold and the Beautiful won Best Supporting Actress.

Jeopardy won its 13th Emmy for Best Game Show, sharing the prize this year with Wheel of Fortune, it’s third win. Those shows' hosts, Alex Trebek and Pat Sajak, also earned Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Let’s Make A Deal host Wayne Brady hosted the awards show.



More From Radar Online

    Opt-out of personalized ads

    © Copyright 2024 RADAR ONLINE™️. A DIVISION OF MYSTIFY ENTERTAINMENT NETWORK INC. RADAR ONLINE is a registered trademark. All rights reserved. Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Cookies Policy. People may receive compensation for some links to products and services. Offers may be subject to change without notice.