SAG Honors Darth Vader

Jan. 22 2009, Published 12:49 p.m. ET

Link to FacebookShare to TwitterShare to Email

Oscar winner Forest Whitaker will be presenting the Screen Actors Guild's lifetime achievement award to James Earl Jones.

The 78 year-old Jones, who has been acting for half a century and is renowned for his work in the original Star Wars trilogy and Field of Dreams, was nominated for an Oscar for his performance as a champion boxer in the 1970 film The Great White Hope.

And yet, he remains modest about his massive body of work.

Article continues below advertisement

"I consider myself a novice, really," he says. "I really love doing it. That means I'm ready to learn more."

The award will be presented on Sunday, when TNT and TBS air The 15th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards show starting at 8 p.m., EST.


© Copyright 2022 Radar Media Group LLC. OPERATED BY EMPIRE MEDIA GROUP HOLDINGS LLC. RADAR and RADARONLINE are registered trademarks. All rights reserved. Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Cookies Policy. People may receive compensation for some links to products and services. Offers may be subject to change without notice.