Tour With The White Stripes

This week, The White Stripes offer up Under Great White Northern Lights, a CD/DVD combo that features both a documentary of the band’s 2007 Canadian tour and their “first-ever official live album” comprised of 16 tracks from the cross-country trek. The documentary, directed by Emmett Malloy, documents the band’s first Canadian tour, where they achieved their goal of playing all 10 provinces and every territory across the vast nation.

“Having never done a tour of Canada, Meg and I thought it was high time to go whole hog,” Jack White said of their lofty ambitions. “To the far reaches of the Canadian landscape, from the ocean to the permafrost.”

The band played regular venues and some unexpected places too, like a bowling alley in Saskatoon, a YMCA in downtown Toronto, and even an impromptu gig on a Winnipeg Transit bus. They ended at the historic Savoy Theatre in Glace Bay, Nova Scotia on July 14th—in honor of their 10-year anniversary as a band.

The film gives fans a behind-the-scenes look at candid off-stage moments, like Jack and Meg hanging with the locals, as well as memorable live footage from the tour, including hits like 2001’s “Fell In Love With a Girl” and fan favorites, like the band’s moving rendition of Dolly Parton’s “Jolene.” 

Track listing for the live album: 

1.  Let’s Shake Hands
2.  Black Math
3.  Little Ghost
4.  Blue Orchid
5.  The Union Forever
6.  Ball and Biscuit
7.  Icky Thump
8.  I’m Slowly Turning Into You
9.  Jolene
10.  300 MPH Torrential Outpour Blues
11.  We Are Going to Be Friends
12.  I Just Don’t Know What to Do With Myself
13.  Prickly Thorn, But Sweetly Worn
14.  Fell In Love With a Girl
15.  When I Hear My Name
16.  Seven Nation Army

blog comments powered by Disqus