Get Your Fresh Intelligence Daily

SUBMIT

Bad Business! Porsha Williams’ Baby Daddy Dennis’ Company Hit With D- Rating

Nov. 19 2018, Updated 11:23 p.m. ET

Link to FacebookShare to TwitterShare to Email

Porsha Williams’ baby daddy Dennis McKinley was involved in two legal battles over his company Queen Virgin Remy. Now, RadarOnline.com can exclusively reveal The Real Housewives of Atlanta star's weave and extensions business was hit with a D- rating!

Better Business Bureau gave the business a D- rating for failing to respond to two complaints filed against the company.

On BBB, several customers complained about the business.  

Article continues below advertisement

“I paid $250 for four bundles of Cambodian loose wave hair,” the customer wrote on August 9, 2017. “I received one bundle of Cambodian loose wave and three bundles of Brazilian loose wave. I immediately called customer service and was told to take pictures, submit them via email, and the store manager would call me back. I called the store three times that day and during my last call I was told that I would not receive a call back, all sales are final, no exchanges or refunds. There's no refund policy listed on the website.”

The complaint went unanswered.

A second customer fired in another complaint on May 20, 2016, “I ordered Peruvian deep wave online about a month ago, two co-washes, conditioner, water and oil everyday, comb about 4-5 times a day and right now it's so tangled and matted that I'm beyond frustrated. I just feel as if I paid too much money for it to be tangled the way it is. They responded claiming that I did not use alcohol free products and the oil was too heavy; rewash hair with shampoo and conditioner. My response: I was giving it some time until I responded after rewashing the hair with "alcohol free" conditioner and the results are the same; knotted and tangled. I'm very displeased with this hair and I feel that $222 for one month of wear is not satisfactory. The company claimed they sent a card on instructions of how to wash the hair and therefore a refund could not be given. I rewashed a third time with shampoo and conditioner and that hair is still matted.” 

Article continues below advertisement

The company responded to the complaint, “For all purchases at Queen Virgin Remy, we provide hair care tips on the back of our flyer. The flyer states that products containing alcohols, sulfates and paragons are not recommended. We also recommend a light serum such as organ oil. The flyer also states that it is important to condition more than you shampoo.

In a third complaint, an unsatisfied customer complained about shipping.

“I placed an order with this company on 3/12,” the customer wrote in the March 23, 2016 complaint. “My order was processed 3/14 and product was shipped, stating it would arrive in two business days. I am filing this claim on 3/21 after my product has not shipped. I notified Queen Virgin Remy that USPS tracking number provided states that the product shipping label was created, but the product has not been processed by USPS. I, as the consumer, cannot even tell if the post office has received the product. I called customer service twice and emailed regarding this situation and lack of shipping. I was told that 'once they create the shipping label, it is up to me to deal with USPS, they don’t have to do that.' This business needs to be reported and penalized. I asked to speak with a manager, she then informed me this has happened before, and they take no responsibility. They are the shipping institution and they can pursue insurance claims with USPS since they are the entity that purchased the shipping and insurance. I as the consumer am left without either product or my original $300+ dollars that I paid to Queen Virgin Remy.”

Article continues below advertisement

The company responded, “Once the customer submits a claim informing the post office that she has not received her hair, the post office will contact us so we can provide further information to have the issue resolved. Once the hair is out of our possession, even though it is insured, it is up to the customer to inform the postal services that the product was not received. We are not able to file a claim as the retailer on behalf of a custom not receiving hair after we have shipped the hair out.”

As Radar broke, customer Kimberly Garlick accused McKinley of “selling faulty merchandise” in the amount of $400 and "refusing to mediate" in June 2014.

McKinley denied the accusations against him and filed a motion to dismiss the civil suit in August 2014.

In September 2014, the Plaintiff asked for the case to be dismissed with prejudice.  

Radar reported in October that McKinley was involved in a legal battle with his ex-girlfriend.

Article continues below advertisement

In court papers obtained from the Northern District of Georgia, McKinley slapped Shanise Thomason with a lawsuit for “trademark infringement, conversion and other wrongful acts” in regards to Queen Virgin Remy.

McKinley claimed Thomason, who he alleged had no “ownership rights or interests in Queen Virgin Remy,” stole  $5,900 worth of merchandise from a retail store in Georgia on February 9, 2015.

McKinley filed a police report, claiming Thomason evaded arrested by saying that she “shared ownership” of the store. She later turned herself in on February 25, 2015 and the Columbus Police Department charged her with shoplifting. 

In Thomason’s answer and counterclaim, she alleged that she is co-owner of Queen Virgin Remy. She denied the shoplifting allegations and accused McKinley of initiating the charges maliciously and falsely. 

In McKinley’s answer to the counterclaim, he admitted to discussing the possibility of joining separate businesses under a single storefront in Atlanta.

“This idea never materialized beyond initial discussions, and McKinley and Thomason continued with their separate businesses, with McKinley later operating his first storefront business for Queen Virgin Remy and Thomason opening a new location in Buckhead, Atlanta for her EgoXtensions business,” the court papers claimed.

 The couple agreed upon a confidential settlement on July 16, 2018.

Williams, 37, announced her pregnancy with McKinley in September after months of dating. He proposed in October. They are expecting a girl.

On a recent episode of RHOA, they fought over his partying and reluctancy to propose. 

Do you think Williams should be worried? Tell us in the comments!

We pay for juicy info! Do you have a story for RadarOnline.com? Email us at tips@radaronline.com, or call us at 800-344-9598 any time, day or night.

Advertisement

© Copyright 2021 Radar Media Group LLC. Radar and RadarOnline are registered trademarks. All Rights Reserved. People may receive compensation for some links to products and services on this website. Offers may be subject to change without notice.